Real Estate License Renewal

First Renewal
Subsequent Renewal
Property Management and/or Business Broker Permit Renewal
Renewing an Inactive License

Renewal Process

Online Renewals

Original Real estate licenses are valid for two years ending the last day of the month during which you obtained your license.  Each renewal thereafter is for a 4-year period. There is no grace period for renewal.

Renewal notices are sent as a courtesy approximately six weeks prior to expiration.  If you do not receive the notice, use the generic renewal form at www.red.state.nv.us/forms/580.pdfLicenses may be renewed up to 45 days prior to the renewal deadline date.

Renewal education requirements are as follows:

FIRST RENEWAL:

  1. 30 Hours Post-Licensing to be completed, and proof of completion to be provided to the Division, within the first year immediately after initial licensing.
    A combination of continuing education and post-licensing courses are not accepted.

  2. 12 hours of continuing education to be completed within the first 2 years after initial licensing to include 3 hours each in the mandatory designated areas of:
    Agency, Contracts, Ethics, and Law & Legislation.

  3. With the exception for rural licensees set forth in NAC 645.4442, all education for first license renewal must be taken through live instruction.

  4. Renewal Fee
    - $360.00 for sales license; or
    - $440.00 for broker and broker-sales licenses
  5. Completed Renewal Form

645.4442—Post-licensing Education*

The requirement for post-licensing education does not apply to a first-time licensee who: (a) Holds a real estate license issued by another state or territory of the United States, or the District of Columbia, on the date on which the first-time licensee obtains a real estate license issued by the State of Nevada; (b) Held a license as a real estate broker, real estate broker-salesman or real estate salesman issued by the State of Nevada within the 5 years immediately preceding the date on which the first-time licensee obtained a license as a real estate salesman; or (c) Is licensed as a real estate broker-salesman and obtained the qualifications for licensure as a real estate broker-salesman pursuant to the provisions of subsection 4 of NRS 645.343.

 

 

*Those who qualify for 645.4442 are required to complete 30 hours of continuing education as follows:


Real Estate Salespersons:

30 hours consisting of 12 hours of required courses that include 3 hours each of:
Agency, Contracts, Ethics, Law & Legislation and 18 hours of General courses with an optional maximum of 3 hours in personal development.
 

Real Estate Broker or Broker Salespersons:

30 hours consisting of 15 hours of required courses that include 3 hours each of:
Agency, Contracts, Ethics, Law & Legislation, and Broker Management and 15 hours of General courses with an optional maximum of 3 hours in personal development. 

At least 50% of the required education in each 2-year period must be taken through live instruction.

First-time licensees who live in a rural area, with the prior written approval of the Division, may take the continuing education course as an interactive or televideo course that involves interaction with the instructor and other students.

For additional information, see Regulation R093-10 and Informational Bulletin #25.

SECOND and SUBSEQUENT RENEWAL:

  1. 24 Hours of Commission approved real estate Continuing Education to be completed before the end of each 2-year period (for a total of 48 hours) as follows:

  • Real Estate Salespersons:

    - 12 hours of required courses include 3 hours each of : Agency, Contracts, Ethics, and Law & Legislation; and

    - 12 hours of elective credits in designated (Agency, Contracts, Ethics and Law & Legislation) and/or General courses, with an optional 3 hours (maximum) in personal development.

  • Real Estate Broker or Broker Salespersons:

    - 15 hours of required courses include 3 hours each of: Agency, Contracts, Ethics, Law & Legislation, and Broker Management; and

    -  9 hours of elective credits in designated (Agency, Contracts, Ethics and Law & Legislation) and/or General courses, with an optional 3 hours (maximum) in personal development.

  1. At least 50% of the required education in each 2-year period must be taken through live instruction.

  2. Proof of completion of the required continuing education must be provided to the Division before the end of each 2-year period.

  3. Renewal Fee
    - $360.00 for sales license; or
    - $440.00 for broker and broker-sales licenses

  4. Completed Renewal Form


    For additional information, see Regulation R093-10 and Informational Bulletin #25.

 

RENEWING A PROPERTY MANAGEMENT AND/OR BUSINESS BROKER PERMIT:

Property Management and Business Broker permits are due for renewal at the same time as the real estate license to which the permits are attached.

Renewal of a Property Manager and/or Business Broker Permit requires a minimum of three (3) hours of a commission approved course in each subject area, as applicable, in each 2-year period, in addition to the continuing education for license renewal.

Additional credit hours in Property Manager or Business Broker, in excess of the 3 hours required per 2-year period, may be used as general continuing education towards license renewal.


For additional information, see Regulation R093-10 and Informational Bulletin #25.

 

RENEWING AN INACTIVE LICENSE:

Inactive real estate licenses must also be renewed by the expiration date.  No continuing education is required to renew, but the renewal form must be completed and returned with the applicable renewal fee. 

The Child Support Statement must be completed, regardless of parental status.

 

RENEWAL PROCESS:

Licenses may be renewed by mail or in person.  Include:

  • Completed Renewal Form

  • Copies of Continuing Education Certificates

  • Applicable Fees

If renewing by mail, the application must be postmarked by midnight of the expiration date (the last day of the renewal month). 

If renewing in person, we suggest that you avoid the end of the month and the middle of the day.